Parents » School Council

School Council

The Georgia A+ Education Reform Act of 2000 required that school councils be established at every public school. The purpose of school councils is to "bring communities and schools closer together to solve difficult education problems, improve academic achievement, provide support for teachers and administrators, and bring parents into the school-based decision-making process."

Who Serves on a School Council? 

A School Council is composed of seven (7) members:

*The (1) Principal

*Two (2) certificated teachers elected by the teachers

*Four (4) parents/guardians elected by the parents; two of the parents must be businesspersons

What are the Roles and Responsibilities of Council Members?  

All members of the School Council must:  

*Maintain a school-wide perspective on issues,

*Regularly participate in council meetings,

*Participate in information and training programs,

*Act as a link between the school council and the community,

*Encourage the participation of parents and others within the school community, and work to improve student performance. 


In accordance with the State of Georgia Revised Code, Goodyear Elementary School Council meets a minimum of four times a year. Goodyear's meeting location is in the Main Office's conference room on site at Goodyear Elementary, 3000 Roxboro Road, Brunswick, GA. School Council Bylaws and Guideline require that meeting information be posted on the County Schools Webpage. Minutes are available for viewing during regular business hours in the school's office.

2021-2022 School Council Meetings Dates:

October 7 - 10am

November 18 - 10am

February 17 - 10am

June 16 - 10am

Council Members Role Term
Mrs. Jackie Yantzi Chair Person/Parent 2021-2022
Open Vice Chair/Parent 2021-2022
Oatanisha Dawson Principal 2021-2022
Elizabeth Cox Assistant Principal 2021-2022
Members Role Term
Kevin Udell Business Representative/ Mentor 2021-2022
Debbie Williamson Community Representative 2021-2022
Angela Holland Teacher Representative 2021-2022
Open Educator/Higher Education/Retired 2021-2022
Kendra Rolle Business Representative 2021-2022